‘Twas the Day before Thanksgiving . . .

It is one day before Thanksgiving.  My daughter is home from university (but at this very moment, she is out with some high school friends).  Our country has been on high alert every since the Paris bombings and Turkey shot down a Russian plane.  Our world if full of violence and fear, but just today our president gave a special update informing the nation that we should continue our plans as usual.  Security is tightened, there are not signs of immediate threat, and we are relatively safe.  I do not completely trust our president.

But this is not a political blog.  I feel like Tony at the beginning of  West Side Story.  Some change is coming, and I can just feel it!  I think it is the anticipation and excitement  of the Christmas season.  For the first time ever, we have a whole week off for Thanksgiving.  I am thankful for that!

Yesterday I did a little Christmas shopping because I am not a Black Friday shopper, and I have the whole week to get ready for Thanksgiving.  I walked past the “North Pole” where Santa was leisurely sitting on his red velvet chair waiting for children and his “elves” (sometimes know as photographers) were delightfully visiting with one another.  There were no lines and no screaming babies.  He waved at me (yes! ME!), and I engaged him in some quick small talk.  I really wanted to tell him what I wanted for Christmas, but I will save that for another day.  In the car, I tuned my SIRIUS radio to channel 13, the “Velvet” station, which now plays contemporary holiday music.  My husband and kids have forbade me from listening to Christmas music until after Thursday, but they weren’t in the car, and I jingled out to Harry Connick Jr.’s Rudolph and other classic Christmas tunes.

Today has been pretty leisure, but somewhat productive.  My husband did some repairs on the house.  I started cooking for the feast we will enjoy tomorrow, then I will continue the book I’m reading by Tatiana de Rosnay, The House I Loved which I am enjoying immensely.  I wish you all a Happy and Gracious Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

