These are a Few of my favorite . . .

The best part about December 26 and 27 is that we can now listen to regular songs on the radio.  There are two radio stations (Magic 104.1 104.1 KMGL and 96.9 BOBFM) based in the city who broadcast continuous Christmas songs from late November until Christmas (actually, BOBFM will play “Santa Radio” until Monday).  I love it at first, but I am ready to hear non-Christmas songs by Christmas.

While these songs are only played once a year, so many of them are over played (they are referred to as “classics” or “traditional”, and others are not played near enough.  Here is my list of Christmas songs I wished I had heard more:

  1. I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas by Gayle Peevey.  This song is so adorable and performed by an Oklahoman.  You can learn more about this song at www.iwantahippopotamusforchristmas.net, but my dad remembers mailing in nickels to help by a hippopotamus for the Oklahoma City Zoo because of that song.
  2. Breath of Heaven by Amy Grant.  This song is so haunting, desperate, and lovely.  It encapsulates the anticipation of Hope.  I love this song.
  3. Joseph’s Song by Michael Card.  I love this song, but I don’t think I heard it once this season.  Like Breath of Heaven, it doesn’t get any airplay.  This sweet song, of course, is from Joseph’s perspective and it is absolutely lovely.
  4. Hard Candy Christmas by Dolly Parton.  I love this song even more after watching her bio-pic on tv this season, “Coat of Many Colors”.
  5. Home for Christmas by Hall and Oates.  I heard this only one time ever, and it was on our way home from Ada Christmas night.  So much better than “Jingle Bell Rock” from the 80’s, I think it’s part of their new revival.  They don’t know it yet, but I’m going to help them write their memoirs.
  6. Christmas in Hollis by Run DMC.  It’s just a great, fun song that is not played enough.

On the other side, here is my list of song I can live without this next Christmas season:

  1. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas by any and everyone.  My son and I heard it twice back to back on the same station by two different artists.  It still sounds the same, no matter who sings it.
  2. Chestnuts Roasting On and Open Fire (The Christmas Song) by – again- anyone.  It’s over done.
  3. Baby It’s Cold Outside.  No matter who sings this duet, it’s the same and it’s over done.
  4. It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year for the same reasons as above – overkill.

These are great songs, no doubt, but I think there is enough airtime during the Season to play these other “soon to be classsics”songs as well.

Leave a Reply

