To Resolve or Not to Resolve . . .

We are several days into the new year.  My husband and I have made our official resolutions, but so far I have only started on one.

I like making resolutions and setting goals, but I find more and more people don’t and some even get irritated discussing them.  I think New Year’s Resolutions are wonderful.  I am always looking for new things to learn or ways to better myself, and resolutions give me a starting point.  I might not always follow through, and I often make resolutions at other junctures of the year (summer, the start of the fall semester), but they are goals to help me become a better person.   It’s a new start and new hope for each year.

(Woody Guthrie’s 1943 New Year’s Resolutions)

Lots of times, people have made great resolutions that I want to add tehm to my list.  This makes my resolutions the length of a short novel.

Perhaps people don’t like making resolutions because they think they won’t keep them, but we must remember that we have 365 days to work on these goals.  If it doesn’t happen today, it can happen tomorrow.  These things usually don’t happen overnight.

Here are my resolutions for 2016:

  1. Exercise at least 4 times a week.  (So far this hasn’t happened)
  2. Submit and essay or story for publication or contest.
  3. Learn to play the ukulele.
  4. Write every day in either a journal, blog, or prayer journal.
  5. Read from a devotional or the Bible everyday.

So far, I have written this post (number 4).

Leave a Reply

